Warriors grab 5th CESAFI football championship

For the fifth time in a row, the University of San Carlos Warriors grabbed the championship in the Cebu Schools Athletic Foundation, Inc. (CESAFI) Men’s Football 2022 held in the Cebu City Sports Center from November 5 to December 11, 2022. 

In preparation for this year’s season, Fr. Adriano Ocariza, SVD (Head, Athletics and Recreation) gave the new head coach, Tirso Ramon M. Roa, the mission of defending the championship the school last won in 2019 before the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Tryouts were conducted last July 2022 and out of more than a hundred players, 33 student-athletes were selected to form the team.

Despite some challenges, the Warriors overcame and became stronger as the season’s opening neared. After a few adjustments, the team finally found its peak form and went on to win its last two games which qualified it for the championship game. 

Aside from bagging the championship, three Warriors also won individual awards. Basti Badayos was recognized as the Best Midfield and Areli Gaspe was awarded as the Top Scorer. Meanwhile, Jasha Tabar is this season’s Most Valuable Player. 

After winning the championship for five straight seasons, the Carolinian team’s next target is the Regional PRISAA where USC will play against the qualifier from Bohol. If they win, the team will qualify for the nationals under the Private Schools Athletic Association (PRISAA). 


Head Coach: Tirso Ramon M. Roa
Assistant Coach: Rose Ton Bariñan 
Assistant Coach: Dino Musni 
Goalkeeping Coach: Garry Garciano 
Attacking Coach: Rogelio Castillon Jr.
Defending Coach: Niño Zapanta 
Monitoring of Student-Athletes: Patrick Uno 
Physiotherapist: Jeslee Fernandez 


Agot, Christian Vierh G. 
Araneta, Marc Joshua M. 
Arreglo, Louie II B. 
Badayos, Ludwig Ryan Sebastian P. 
Bajarias, Nathan Gamaliel L. 
Calimposan, Junrey G. 
Destajo, John Ryan J. (Team Captain) 
Diola, Ezekiel Christopher N. 
Ebrada, Zraim Uichi R. 
Eldian, John Ryll J. 
Gaspe, Areli A. 
Imbing, Denzel Oliver M. 
Labus, Jeff Leoard C. 
Murillo, Renz Miko A. 
Oporto, Khylle Joy A. 
Pastrana, Nino Gianpaolo B. 
Sinoy , John Cyril
Sinoy, Michael Vincent 
Suple, John Lloyd I. 
Tabar, Jascha Mari M. 
Toledo, Rico John 
Alazas, Antonio Emmanuel 
Arreglo, Clouie B. 
Bangot, Kyrell 
De la Torre, Zidane A. 
Gentapa, George Dominic B. 
Iwanaga, Hiroshi 
Largado, John Vincent 
Ortiz , Deo Prinz Niño D. 
Tabar, Benedict Ross 
Vince Ozanam C. Lamparas 
Yunam, Bryce S.

Report by Patrick Uno

This entry was posted in Events and Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.