Waste mgmt proposal wins Ordinance Drafting Contest

Team Environmental Crusaders (standing from left): Metzi Light G. Capunong, faculty-adviser Catherine Melody A. Ruiz, Mari Justin P. Akut, Audrey Dominique G. Reroma, Maraiah Ivana M. Colaljo, Beverly S. Wagas, Sheridan D. Tan, Reanne Angel L. Francisco; (seated from left) Joshua M. Tambor, Divine Grace Niña T. Cuizon.

A micro-policy proposal on solid waste management in a university won the 1st Ordinance Drafting Contest held last December 9, 2019 at the Fr. Albert van Gansewinkel Hall, University of San Carlos-Downtown Campus. The proposal was drafted by Team Environmental Crusaders, while Tumbler Warriors, Bioswales, and HAAFS finished 2nd, 3rd, and 4th, respectively.

Policy proposals during the final round of the competition were assessed by Atty. Carlo Pontico C. Fortuna (former Vice Mayor and three-time councilor of Mandaue City), Luzlin P. Elcullada, Dev.Ed.D., R.G.C. (Head, USC Counseling and Development Center), Dr. Roselle J. Ranario (Vice President for Visayas, Philippine Society for Public Administration and CHED Technical Committee Member for Public Administration), Atty. Mat Eric Medalle (Chief of Staff of Cebu City Vice Mayor Atty. Michael Rama and three-time barangay councilor of Barangay Pari-an, Cebu City), and Atty. Christie Marie Alga, En.P. (City Planning and Development Officer for Mandaue City).

Political Science faculty members with panel of judges (from left) Elizar L. Sabinay Jr., Brenette L. Abrenica, Atty. Mat Eric Medalle, Dr. Roselle J. Ranario, Atty. Christie Marie Alga, En.P., Atty. Carlo Pontico C. Fortuna, Luzlin P. Elcullada, Dev.Ed.D., R.G.C., Catherine Melody A. Ruiz, Rejene T. Lakibul

Crusaders’ winning micro-policy proposal seeks to address the problem on solid waste management attributed to single-use plastics within a university. The proposal, An Ordinance Regulating Single-Use Plastics in the University of San Carlos, Declaring Certain Acts Prohibited and Appropriating Funds thereof, was drafted by team members Mari Justin P. Akut, Metzi Light G. Capunong, Maraiah Ivana M. Colaljo, Divine Grace Niña T. Cuizon, Reanne Angel L. Francisco, Joshua M. Tambor, Sheridan D. Tan, Beverly S. Wagas, and Audrey Dominique G. Reroma. Catherine Melody A. Ruiz served as the faculty-adviser; she is also the Network Coordinator for Kaabag sa Sugbo.

Tumbler Warriors’ proposal was entitled An Ordinance Banning the Use, Sale and Distribution of Bottled Water and Other Plastic-Bottled Drinks in Schools and Universities, and Advocating the Use of Reusable Water Containers, Imposing Penalties for Violations thereof and Providing Funds thereof. Members of the team are Charlene Mae H. Chan, Kate Alesson A. Laurente, and Serena Rhene T. Sy, with faculty-adviser Aldwin Joseph A. Empaces, who is the Executive Director of Fellowship for Organizing Endeavors, Inc.

Third place winner Team Bioswales proposed An Ordinance Providing for a Sustainable Stormwater Runoff by Situating Bioswales for the Reduction of Flood Occurrences Within the Territorial Jurisdiction of the City of Cebu, Providing Penalties for the Violation thereof, Destruction, Obstruction, Omission, and Littering of and Within the Area Where the Bioswale is Situated. The team members are Karessa Star V. Caneda, Jed Christoper L. Francis, Allence Michael L. Dy, Claire R. Rona, Angela Marie Santos, Christianna Stephanie T. Sun, Kacy Tan, and Micah Sheene I. Vergara. Elizar L. Sabinay Jr., Program Coordinator for Cebu Leads Foundation, Inc., served as the faculty-adviser.

Team HAAFS, also advised by Sabinay, pitched for An Ordinance Prohibiting the Acts of Discrimination, Exclusion, and Expulsion with Respect to Terms and Conditions of Employment Solely on the Basis of Human Art for all Establishments in the Food Sector within the Territorial Jurisdiction of Cebu City. The team is composed of Myrla Nelle T. Abear, Archiely Beldera, Ariel M. Cabillon, May Ann Marvilline B. Enad, Vans Andre U. Pacaña, Michael John Leirry D. Parba, Rene Dominique Y. Quiniones, Sheila Marie C. Tagalog, Maurice Clemence L. Toledo, and Jean Margarette A. Zafra.

The four teams earned their grand final slots after they competed against and bested several other teams in their designated clusters during the qualifying round held last December 6, 2019 at the University of San Carlos-Downtown Campus.

The Ordinance Drafting Contest 2019 is organized by the Department of Political Science through its General Free Elective course on Policy Advocacy: Working for Change (GE-FEL PAWC). The contest provided a venue for ordinary citizens to take part in the policy process by helping articulate some priority issues that are better addressed through a local ordinance. It also created a platform where students pitched in their legislative proposals or “micro-policies” (i.e., in-campus or university-wide) or policy campaign before a panel of judges who not only looked into the soundness of their proposals but who also helped them by providing guidance and future directions.

by Rejene T. Lakibul, Department of Political Science

Tags: Political Science

This entry was posted in Events and Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.